From Land Line Magazine:
Two more bills to be signed into law are intended to make the state’s roadways a little safer by toughening penalties for driving under the influence.
The first bill – A3073 – increases the use of ignition interlock devices for drunken drivers.
Until now, New Jersey judges were given the option to require the use of ignition interlocks for first-time offenders for six months to a year after their license was restored. The devices are already required for repeat offenders for one to three years.
The new law, which took effect immediately, mandates ignition interlocks for first offenders whose blood alcohol content is at least 0.15 percent – nearly twice New Jersey’s 0.08 limit.
Also signed into law is a bill – A4303 – designed to crack down on motorists repeatedly caught driving under the influence or with a suspended license.
Senate President Richard Codey, D-Essex, said he was spurred to pursue the legislation after a Morris Township, NJ, crash in April 2009 that was caused by a man with 12 previous DUI convictions and 78 license suspensions.
Jail time would be mandatory for anyone caught driving under the influence while already suspended for a DUI or refusal to take a breath test. Convicted offenders would face six months to one year behind bars and up to a $10,000 fine.Share on Facebook